“Hooter’s, Abercrombie, & Hollister Oh My!”


So I was talking to my friend one day about needing a job and she said, “Hey you should try to go and get a job at Hooter’s! I work there and I loooove it.!” I know a lot of girl’s who would say, or more likely parents (HA), that would say you/I am not working at Hooter’s! For the same reason almost everyone else does.  The sexy clothes and objectivism of women is the main idea that comes to mind. But of course being the broke college student I am I don’t care. So I say “Ok, I know you guys get tipped really good! I will call them tomorrow.” She looks at me and says, “Well you can’t call them, you have to go in person. If you call they will tell you they aren’t hiring, but that’s because they can’t see you over the phone.” Hmmm….do what know?

This isn’t the last time though that I encountered a “pretty preference” when looking for a job. When I was recruited to work at Abercrombie. Oh and by the way you cant just go in and get an application, someone who works there has to recruit you. They give you a card with their name on it and have the info on where to apply online and it requires a password. But get this…on the card it literally reads, “We are just looking for a couple of good-looking people…” Whoa. Seriously? This isn’t the only company like this, Abercrombie & Fitch (the adult store…NOT xxx adult store for those whose minds are elsewhere) and Hollister who are all under the same jurisdiction are just the same.

The rules that these companies have also are absolutely ridiculous! Not only is the dress code very specific, it’s extensive and obviously an attmept at rooting out “certain” types of people. I went in for an interview and as I went through the interviewing process the more and more I was turned off by the thought of working there.You cant have any hair style that requires gel or any excessive amount of hairspray, it has to look natural. You can’t wear a lot of earrings or rings, nor can they be big, quarter size only (I was already not hired). The more things he named the more I looked down at myself and thought, wow I might as well get up and walk away now. I honestly wish he would have just said “We don’t want urban people working here.” Needless to say I didn’t get a call back…All smiles on that one.

Of course you are gonna come into some legal trouble. Abercrombie and Fitch got a big lawsuit filed against them in 2005,

You can read he full story here:

Abercrombie and Fitch Lawsuit I know it’s Wikipedia, but honestly they have all the information! Sorry….

This entry was posted in Discrimination. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Hooter’s, Abercrombie, & Hollister Oh My!”

  1. Marilyn Walton-White says:

    YOU LOOKING GOOD….NEVER FORGET LIFE IS NOT ALWAYS EASY OR FAIR….AND MOST JOB INTERVIEWS DNT REQUIRE QUATER SIZE RINGS…sn….LOVE TO SEE YOU LOVING LIFE…LADY FIRST……KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK…THIS IS WHAT YOU SIGN UP FOR…..LOVE YA!!!

Leave a Reply

